

### HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

# COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT AND SMALL BUSINESS SUBCOMMITTEE ON HOUSING

REP. KEVIN COLEMAN CHAIR

## **COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES**

Thursday, May 11, 2023

2:30 PM

Room 326, House Office Building

The House Economic Development and Small Business Subcommittee on Housing was called to order by Chair Coleman.

The Chair requested attendance be called:

Present: Reps. Coleman, Dievendorf, Stone, Scott, Andrews, Grant, Tsernoglou, Aragona,

Zorn, Fink, DeBoyer.

Absent: None. Excused: None.

Representative Dievendorf moved to adopt the meeting minutes from March 23, 2023. There being no objection, the motion prevailed by unanimous consent.

The Chair laid SB 129, SB 130, SB 131 and SB 132 before the committee:

SB 129 (Sen. Singh)

A bill to amend 1996 PA 381, entitled "Brownfield redevelopment financing act," by amending the title and sections 2, 8, 8a, 13, 13b, 13c, 14, 14a, 15, and 16 (MCL 125.2652, 125.2658, 125.2658a, 125.2663, 125.2663b, 125.2663c, 125.2664, 125.2664a, 125.2665, and 125.2666), the title as amended by 2003 PA 259, section 2 as amended by 2022 PA 178, sections 8, 13, 13b, 15, and 16 as amended by 2020 PA 259, section 8a as amended by 2017 PA 46, sections 13c and 14a as amended by 2021 PA 138, and section 14 as amended by 2016 PA 471.

SB 130 (Sen. McDonald Rivet)

A bill to amend 1893 PA 206, entitled "The general property tax act," by amending section 7gg (MCL 211.7gg), as added by 2003 PA 261.

SB 131 (Sen. Cavanagh) A bill to amend 1937 PA 94, entitled "Use tax act,"

by amending section 4dd (MCL 205.94dd), as

added by 2017 PA 49.

SB 132 (Sen. Shink) A bill to amend 1933 PA 167, entitled "General

sales tax act," by amending section 4d (MCL

205.54d), as amended by 2017 PA 48.

Senator Singh and Amy Hovey testified in support of SB 129, SB 130, SB 131 and SB 132. Questions and discussion followed.

Stephen Wooden representing the Dwelling Place testified in support of SB 129, SB 130, SB 131 and SB 132.

The following people submitted a card in support of SB 129, SB 130, SB 131 and SB 132, but did not wish to speak:

Karyn Ferrick, representing the City of Grand Rapids.

Ryan Verwys, representing the 1CCF Community Homes.

Josh Lunger, representing the Grand Rapids Chambers.

Judy Allen, representing the Michigan Townships Association.

Jessica AcMoody, representing the Community Economic Development Association of Michigan.

Dawn Grandall, representing the HBA of Michigan.

Cash Cook, representing the Kalkaska DDA.

Justin Horvath, representing the Shiawassee Economic Partnership.

Jeshua Lauka, representing the Wierenga and Lauka PC.

Tabitha Zimny, representing the Michigan Mortgage Lenders Association.

Ryan Hertz, representing the Lighthouse MI.

Brad Ward, representing the Michigan Realtors.

Jonathan Brownson, representing the Holland Non-profit.

Darian Neubecker, representing the Robertson Homes.

At 2:55 PM, the Chair laid the committee at ease.

At 2:59 PM, the Chair called the committee back to order.

Representative Dievendorf moved to refer SB 129 to the Committee on Economic Development and Small Business. The motion prevailed 6-0-5:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Coleman, Dievendorf, Scott, Andrews, Grant, Tsernoglou.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Stone, Aragona, Zorn, Fink, DeBoyer.

Representative Andrews moved to refer SB 130 to the Committee on Economic Development and Small Business. The motion prevailed 6-0-5:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Coleman, Dievendorf, Scott, Andrews, Grant, Tsernoglou.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Stone, Aragona, Zorn, Fink, DeBoyer.

Representative Tsernoglou moved to refer SB 131 to the Committee on Economic Development and Small Business. The motion prevailed 6-0-5:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Coleman, Dievendorf, Scott, Andrews, Grant, Tsernoglou.

Navs: None.

Pass: Reps. Stone, Aragona, Zorn, Fink, DeBoyer.

Representative Scott moved to refer SB 132 to the Committee on Economic Development and Small Business. The motion prevailed 6-0-5:

#### FAVORABLE ROLL CALL

Yeas: Reps. Coleman, Dievendorf, Scott, Andrews, Grant, Tsernoglou.

Nays: None.

Pass: Reps. Stone, Aragona, Zorn, Fink, DeBoyer.

The Chair laid a presentation on the Fair Chance Housing in Michigan before the committee.

Tony Grant, Director of Policy and Program Operations and John Bae, Program Manager, Ashia Wilson, Community Engagement Specialist, and Mayor Daniel Mahoney gave a presentation on the VERA Institute of Justice.

There being no further business before the subcommittee, Chair Coleman adjourned the meeting at 3:29 PM.

Representative Emily Dievendorf, Majority Vice-Chair

Elaine Kupiec Committee Clerk ekupiec@house.mi.gov